Boonies

I feel like a brand new person. Got my nails did. Doesn’t happen very often. In fact, the only other time I’ve treated myself to a manicure was last April in Dubai. So it brings back good memories of short sleeves and flip flops. The best part of my excursion today was the fact that it led to an impromptu friend date. It’s one thing to decide to spend the money on yourself. It’s so much better to go with a friend. And it’s much easier to catch up with a friend than understand the chinese lady doing my nails. Win/win! 

So now my nails look stinkin’ awesome and I’m ready to go. Interview in the morning. Bring it on. I called the station for the address. Honestly, it shouldn’t be that hard to figure out. But even the lady on the other end of the line didn’t know where she was. “Hold on a second, I’m sure it’s here somewhere… We’re out in the middle of nowhere… I’m sure that’s encouraging.” I don’t mind. Really. If you’re going to put me on air, I’ll report from the sticks. No problem.

In fact, driving north tonight I realized how foreign the dark is. I mean, no traffic lights, no city lights. Dark. It’s so dark. And massive. There are so many stars. I miss that beauty. Honestly, God’s power is displayed so poignantly in the vastness. The universe is so large, and I am so small. But He still knows me. Chooses to love me. That’s a fact. 

But sidebar aside, I’m excited to trek off into the boonies for a shot at a job I really want. If I’m meant to be there, I’ll make the most of it. 

I feel no shame; I’m proud of where I came from. I was born and raised in the boondocks. One thing I know, no matter where I go, I keep my heart and soul in the boondocks.

–Little Big Town

Leave a Reply

