Backdrop

Jason and Todd were my heroes today. One of them drives a white truck.

I was taught a valuable lesson today. I learned my car is not as big as I think it is. Also I’m definitely a girl and should have a warning sticker on my forehead when checking out at hardware stores.

Before heading out grocery shopping I got this great idea to be crafty. I’ve wanted to make some backdrops for my photography for quite a while. I’ve read some blogs, watched some videos… I knew what I was doing. All I had to do was buy this polystyrene(?) stuff and paint it. Voila! Instant lightweight backdrop. So i got the foam and added a sheet of tile board to my cart, making my way to the paint department. The lady there talked me through all of my options, got me hooked up with some primer, a fantastic shade of pink paint, and a brush. I grabbed a drop cloth and proceeded to check out. Seventy-some dollars later I’m rolling my cart out the doors when the guy walking out at the same time says, “I hope you’re not trying to put that in a small car.” Oh no, it should fit. Why wouldn’t it? He said he’d help me load it, but there’s no way this 4×9 sheet is fitting in my cruiser. Nuh-uh. Leaning up against his car, he asked if I was going far. Not really, just a mile down the road. Oh, well that’s too bad. I’d help you out, but I’m not going that way. So I’m standing next to my cart, blankly staring at my phone trying to figure out who I know in the Lansing area with a truck. Ugh. I hate not knowing anyone.

These two guys come walking out of the store. One says, “Well that looks problematic.” So I then launch into my “i’m a dumb girl” speech. They ask if I’m going far. Nope, just a mile down the road. They put my stuff in their truck, say they’ll follow me, joke about me going too fast and losing them and consequently my boards. They get to my apartment and carry my stuff in and downstairs. I ask if there’s anything I can do for them, give them. They just smiled and said, “Pass it on.” I thanked them profusely as they walked out. That encounter really made my day. They were so kind. So now I’m looking for a way to repay that. I know that it probably wasn’t a huge ordeal for them. It took all of 10 minutes out of their day, but it really saved me a lot of hassle. I was able to carry on with my day without fretting about my project. I wasn’t stranded at Home Depot.

So now as I sit here with the foam spread out in front of me, a fresh layer of primer on top, I’m reminded of the good hearts in people. When this project is done, the paint finally dry, I’ll think of them when setting up for a photoshoot. I’ll remember that helpless feeling and then the gratitude will come back, inspiring a positive attitude.

We should start each day upon a backdrop of thanks.

I’m crashing like a tidal wave. I don’t want to be stranded, stranded, stranded.

–Plumb

Leave a Reply

