Pizza Party

Today felt like one of those Fridays in middle school where you walked into class and saw the tv cart. Yeah, that feeling. Throw in the fact that your class won a pizza party for some team spirit competition–and today’s the day. Add to that the joy of getting to spend the last half hour of the day playing silent ball sitting on top of your desk. Yeah, you know what I’m talking about: that kind of day.

There really wasn’t anything special about today. Nothing that stood out as particularly magnificent. A bunch of little things molded it into something good though. 

Cheap coffee on my way to work because it’s Biggby’s birthday. Hope it’s great, I’ll take two! 

Ice cube trays hidden. No worries. I found them. And filled them. 🙂

Breaking news at 5 o’clock? We’ll have a crew there some time after 5:30? Sure, I’ll throw that live shot in my show. Along with the other one. The great thing is that it was flawless. Sometimes everything just works. 

Pizza in the break room. I love the sound of those five words. My smile when I investigate and find Pizza Hut–even bigger.

No drama in the newsroom. Just a relaxing night at work, getting things done.

I baked a cake and brought most of it to work so that I don’t eat it all on my days off. So being able to share that made me happy. I think the best part was giving a piece to my EP and having him storm back into the newsroom demanding more. 

So it was a four day week. I guess I had more energy. Or less to care about. But it was good. 

It truly feels like the calm before the storm. I know it’s going to get crazy soon with people leaving. I’ll probably end up working extra hours and added responsibilities. So for now I’m going to enjoy these moments. I’m thankful for the time I’ve had in this journey and for what I’ve learned. I’m sure there will be frustration, but that can only be looked at as a challenge to overcome. I’m not going to let it get to me. I’m not going to preoccupy myself with two weeks from now.

I gotta find my place, I wanna hear my sound; don’t care about all the pain in front of me ’cause I’m just trying to be happy.

–Leona Lewis

Leave a Reply

