Wagon

So I’m trying to wrap my mind around the idea of packing up and moving across the country. I’ve always said I could do it. And I think that I can, but it’s very different to have that possibility right in front of me. There’s still plenty standing in the way, but I think I need to consider the chance of everything working out before I actually have to hitch up my wagon and head out west. 

I’m being considered for a position at a sister station in Colorado. It’s a much smaller place, but it would be an on-air job. Not just on-air, anchoring. It would be a weekday morning job–meaning I’d have my weekends again. That would be nice. Although third shift could be rough. 

Fresh start. Blank slate. New beginning. Sounds great. And terrifying. Moving to Lansing was interesting because I didn’t know anyone really, but this would be a whole new world. Home is only an hour away now… not 18 or a $400 flight. To be truly on my own is such a foreign thought. But I’m game. Put me in coach. I think it’s a great opportunity. 

So for now I’ll wait for some feedback. If it doesn’t happen, there are other jobs out there. I think what I’m most impressed about is the fact that my boss is helping me, recommending me for the job. He knows that I want to get on air but doesn’t have a place for me here. It means a lot that he’s willing to help me get somewhere else. 

Honestly, I’m giving the whole situation over to God. If it’s meant to be, I’ll go. It really is as simple as that. I’m praying that it’s as simple as that. God is sovereign and I trust Him to work all things for good. 

People always say, “Life is full of choices.” No one ever mentions fear. Or how a road can seem so long, how the world can seem so vast. Courage see me through. Heart I’m trusting you on this journey…

 

One step at a time. One hope then another. Who knows where this road may go? Back to who I was, on to find my future. Things my heart still needs to know. Let this be a sign, let this road be mine.

–Aliyah, Anastasia 

Leave a Reply

