Good Enough

Taking pictures is rejuvenating for me. I should remember this. I hadn’t gotten out to just shoot in so long. Being able to wander, at my own pace, not slowing anybody down–that’s the best. That’s when creativity flows. No harness. No restraints. I end up in my own world. 

I often question my abilities. What makes my pictures any better than anybody else’s? It’s not about that though. As I go through my images it’s so peaceful. I’m happy. And deeper than that–there’s joy. Sure there are some not-so-stellar shots, but the process of getting the right shot is fulfilling. I love being able to master the moment–to capture it in a way that does it justice. I love being able to show people the world through my eyes. 

Somebody just reminded me of the photography classes that I’ve taken. Walking around downtown brings to mind some of those early assignments. I think about how one of my professors always gave me a hard time about wanting to pursue broadcasting. He would say, “No, you don’t want to be on tv. You need to take pictures.” He was always trying to convince me that I was good enough to make it, something I couldn’t quite grasp. I didn’t hear him saying that to anyone in the class; I know he meant it. There was sincerity in both his eyes and voice. Even catching up years later, he said the same thing. In a way, he’s right. I do need to take pictures. It’s part of who I am. It’s how God made me. It’s a great way for me to express myself. 

This world is a marvelous place. Creation’s splendor was meant to be revered. I’m honored to have the opportunity to snatch it up and preserve it. 

I guess this is a challenge to myself. I really need to set aside time, to plan time for taking pictures. Perhaps a vow to use my time off of work… I become someone else when my camera is draped over my shoulder. There’s a story to tell. 

It’s kind of like this blog. I decided to start writing because I craved creativity in my life. Photos are another large aspect of imagination in my life. 

“Gonna take a sentimental journey. Gonna set my heart at ease. Gonna make a sentimental journey to renew old memories.”

–Emmy Rossum

Leave a Reply

