Spark

I’ve been working at 7&4 for a little over a month now, and starting next week I won’t be the newest employee. A new anchor joins Marc at the desk for the evening shows really soon; her promos are already flooding the airwaves.

My boss decided he wants the weekend anchor and myself to get as much experience at the desk in the days leading up to the new girl. So a few days last week and then every night this week I have the privilege of bringing Northern Michigan its news. 

So far it’s been a great experience. I haven’t had any major mess-ups (*knocks on wood*)  and the little feedback I’ve gotten has been pretty good. I’m recording the shows, watching them again and again, analyzing how I look, sound, come across, etc. I think that’s necessary for growth. A week isn’t a terribly long time, but it’s definitely a start, a spark that will lead to a much larger fire. I want each show to be better, but even if it isn’t, I want to learn from it. 

It’s been really nice to have family in the viewing area tuning in. It’s special. It makes me happy when people who know me and my aspirations get to see me living out those dreams. So if you have some spare time and want to see my on-air work, let me know what you think. I’d love some more honest feedback about what I do well, but also what I need to work on. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=beTjWpkdo_A)

Thanks for your help along my journey!

So I’m fanning the flames to climb so high ‘Cause there’s no other way we can stay alive When it’s all said and done, we’ll shine like the sun So don’t let the fire die and we’ll watch the sky As it fills with light and though the embers are new Whatever you do, just don’t let the fire die.

–Owl City

 

 

Leave a Reply

